Model Intersection Lighting

  • Required information (Carlos Perez, cperez@rickengineering.com, 619-416-0808)
    • Type of luminaire (cobra, shoe box, etc)
    • Height of pole
    • Mast arm length
    • Wattage
    • LED, HPS, LPS
    • Approximate location (feet from face of curb, from ped ramp, etc)

Bollards and Gates

Crosswalks

NDOT

  • Frederick Tydeman, PE, Senior ITS Engineer, NDOT - Traffic Operations Division, mobile 775-232-0105, ftydeman@dot.nv.gov
  • Hoang Hong, Principal Operations Engineer, office 775-888-7018, hhong@dot.nv.gov
  • Kevin Maxwell, PE, Principal Engineer, NDOT - Traffic Operations Division, KMaxwell@dot.nv.gov
  • Jeffrey Bickett, jbickett@dot.nv.gov
  • Eric Macgill, EmacGill@dot.nv.gov
  • Lori Campbell, Traffic Safety Engineering, 775-888-7462, lcampbell@dot.nv.gov

NDOT Details

  • NDOT Midblock Crosswalk Lighting
  • NDOT Type 1 (RRFB) Rectangular Rapid Flashing Beacon
  • NDOT Type 2 (RRFB) Rectangular Rapid Flashing Beacon

Clark County - Pedestrian Actuated Flasher

City of Las Vegas - Crosswalk Flasher

HAWK Crosswalks

Rectangular Rapid Flashing Beacon (RRFB) Crosswalks

Design Facility Lighting

Illumination Design Software

  • AGI32
  • upload IES files from LED manufactures
  • upload DWG of intersection geometry

RTC

    • Ken Satowski, Engineering Technician, satowskik@rtcsnv.com
    • Julia Uravich, PE, Senior Project Engineer, uravichj@rtcsnv.com, 702-676-1958, projects in Clark County and Henderson
    • Chris Schwarz, projects in LV and NLV, 702-676-1744

City of Las Vegas

  • Public Works - 702-229-6272, publicworks@lasvegasnevada.gov
  • Sean Robinson, 702-229-2199,
  • Nicole Melton, 702-229-6691

Clark County Public Works - Traffic

  • CCPW Traffic
    • doesn't like RRFB and has had projects to remove them
    • Prefer overhead flashers instead of Hawk System or RRFB
  • Kaizad
  • Anthony Ramos, anthony.ramos@clarkcountynv.gov, 702-455-6063
  • Humberto
  • Lonnie Wilburn

LHTAC

  • Kevin Kuther, PE, Safety Manager, kkuther@lhtac.org, 208-344-0565 x1007
  • Amanda LaMott, PE, Safety TAP Engineer, alamott@lhtac.org, 208-344-0565 x1022
  • Brian Wright, PE, Safety Engineer, bwright@lhtac.org, 208-344-0565 x1010

Left Turn Lane

Traffic Plan

Sight Visibility Zone (SVZ)

  • Traffic Design SVG
    • Plan view of SVZ
    • SVZ Plan View
  • CCAUSD 201.2
  • Sight Visibility Zone Legend
    • SVZ Legend
    • Layer: CT-VIEW (old way on SVZ layer)
    • Hatch Pattern: ANSI31 scale 30 (if using 1“=30' viewport scale)
    • Linetype: REC_STYLE 5

AutoTurn

  • Open Civil 3D
  • Change Workspace
    • Quick Access Toolbar → Workspace → User_Defined
    • AutoTURN Pro from drop down menu
      • AutoTurn Menu
  • Vehicles
    • Library: Special Transport (Switch truck)
      • Vehicle Name: Combination Trailer 4×8 and R3
    • Library: Fire & Rescue
    • Library: AASHTO 2018 (US)
      • Vehicle Name: WB-67
    • Library: AASHTO 2018 (US)
      • Vehicle Name: BUS-45
      • AutoTurn Bus 45
  • 2D SmartPaths Panel
    • 2D Arc Path
  • Edit Panel
    • Path Control

Lane-Reduction

Traffic Study Waiver

City of North Las Vegas

Contacts

  • Curt Kroeker, PE, Associate Engineer, Transportation Services
    • kroekerc@cityofnorthlasvegas.com
    • 702-633-2676
    • City of North Las Vegas
    • 2250 Las Vegas Blvd North, Suite 200
    • North Las Vegas NV 89030

Traffic Studies

Traffic Counts

Street Light Capacity

Navigation

Civil Engineering Engineering - Computer Engineering - Electrical Mechanical Engineering

Print/export
QR Code
QR Code engineer-civil:traffic-design (generated for current page)