Magic Valley CAD Manual

  • Why a CAD Standard Manual?

Committee Members

Public Agencies

  • City of Jerome
  • City of Twin Falls
    • Jason Brown, jbrown@tfid.org
    • Kristi Fehringer@tfid.org, 208-735-7332
  • Jerome County
  • Twin Falls County
  • Gooding County
  • State of Idaho - Transportation Department - Region ?
  • State of Idaho - Department of Environmental Protection
  • College of Southern Idaho

Engineering Firms/Private Industry - local

    • Charles G. Brockway, charles.g.brockway@brockwayeng.com
  • CSI - Landscape Architecture
    • Chance Munns, cmunns@csi.edu
    • Jake Southwick, jsouthwick@civilscience.com
    • Chevy Baily, cbaily@riedeseleng.com
    • Gary M. Haderlie, ghaderlie@jub.com
    • Chris Harmison, charmison@ehminc.com
    • 621 North College Road - Suite 100
    • Twin Falls ID 83301
    • Phone: 208-734-4888
    • Bryce Marsh, EIT (bmarsh@ehminc.com)
    • Jim Mullen, PE (jmullen@kellerassociates.com), 208-238-2146, Vice President/Principal
      • 305 North 3rd Avenue, Suite A
      • Pocatello ID 83201
    • Larry Rupp, PE (lrupp@kellerassociates.com), 208-288-1992, Project Manager
      • 131 SW 5th Avenue, Suite A
      • Meridian ID 83642

Consulting Engineering Firms - Las Vegas

    • Paul Judd, paul.judd@jacobs.com

Consulting - CAD

Project Folder and Naming Convention

Layers

Text Styles

Annotation Styles

Table Styles

Line Types, Shapes, Measure Blocks and Polylines

Line Type Scale

Blocks and Symbols

Title Blocks and Strips

State Seals

Cover Sheet

Vicinity Map

Detail References

Hatches

Plotting

Transparency and Screening

  • Issues with Multiple transparencies on layers not plotting, so I think the best option is to use old school .ctb screening
  • Screening
    • 100 is opaque or solid fill color, 0% transparency
    • 10 is almost invisible, 90% transparency
  • AutoCAD Color 7 is black/white but I feel NCS is wrong, it should have 100 screening and color 255 is white which should have 0 screening. Notice the table is missing value for 255.
    • Color 7 (black 0) = 100 screening
    • Color 8 (gray 128) = 60 screening
    • Color 9 (light gray 192) = 75 screening
  • NCS Plotting Black/White/Gray
  • NCS.ctb - screening modified to AutoCAD standard color, see above values in red
    • download and save to C:\Users\jjensen.CI\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\C3D 2018\enu\Plotters\Plot Styles\NCS.ctb
  • Civil 3D Styles is backwards
    • C-TOPO-MINR color 8 (minor contours) medium gray (should be 9)
    • C-TOPO-MAJR color 9 (major contours) light gray (should be 8)

Named and Color Based Plot Styles

Viewport Scale

Literature Review of GIS Data Dictionaries

Literature Review of CAD Standards and Manuals

AUGI

Autodesk App Store

  • Contacts
    • Hazel manages the App Store and decides what apps are on the banner
    • JiaJia.zhang@autodesk.com “Jay” is the product manager for the app store
    • Stephen.Preston@autodesk.com is very familiar with the App Store and did the AU 2017 presentation
    • Jim.Quanci@autodesk.com did the AU 2017 presentation on the App Store

ASME

  • ASME Y14.1-2005, Drawing Sheet Size and Format
  • ASME Y14.2-2008, Line Conventions and Lettering
  • ASME Y14.3M-2003 (R2008), Multiview and Sectional View Drawings
  • ASME Y14.38M-2007, Abbrevations
  • ASME Y14.100-2004, Engineering Drawing Practices

International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

    • ISO 11442:2006 Technical product documentation - document management
    • ISO 13567-1:2017 Technical product documentation - Organization and naming of layers for CAD - Part 1: Overview and principles
    • ISO 13567-2:2017 Technical product documentation - Organization and naming of layers for CAD - Part 2: Concepts, format and codes used in construction documentation
Navigation

Civil Engineering Engineering - Computer Engineering - Electrical Mechanical Engineering

Print/export
QR Code
QR Code engineer-civil:cad-manual (generated for current page)